Western Sahara is a country that is rich in culture, natural resources, and traditional cuisine. Despite its challenges, this country remains a unique and fascinating destination for travelers and enthusiasts. In this guide, we will explore the history, geography, politics, economy, and social indicators of Western Sahara, as well as its traditional music, cuisine, and festivals.


Western Sahara is a disputed territory located in North Africa. It was colonized by Spain in the late 19th century and was known as Spanish Sahara until 1975. Following Spain’s withdrawal, the territory was annexed by Morocco and Mauritania. However, the indigenous Sahrawi people, represented by the Polisario Front, waged a war of independence against Morocco and Mauritania.

In 1979, Mauritania withdrew from the conflict, and Morocco annexed the remaining territory. This led to a prolonged conflict between the Sahrawi people and the Moroccan government, with the Sahrawi people demanding independence.


Western Sahara is located in North Africa and covers an area of 266,000 square kilometers. It is bordered by Morocco to the north, Algeria to the northeast, Mauritania to the east and south, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The country’s landscape is dominated by the Sahara desert, which covers most of the territory. The coastal region is characterized by sandy plains and rocky plateaus.

Map Image Web Link:

Politics and Governance:

Western Sahara is a disputed territory, with Morocco and the Polisario Front both claiming sovereignty over the territory. The Polisario Front has established the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (SADR) as a government-in-exile, with its headquarters in the city of Tindouf, Algeria.

Flag Image Web Link:

Official Website:


Western Sahara’s infrastructure is underdeveloped, with limited road networks, railways, and airports. The country relies heavily on foreign aid for infrastructure development.


Western Sahara’s economy is primarily based on agriculture, fishing, and phosphate mining. The country has large reserves of phosphates, which are used in fertilizers and other industrial applications. However, the conflict with Morocco has made it difficult for the country to fully exploit its natural resources.


Western Sahara has a population of approximately 600,000 people, with the majority belonging to the Sahrawi ethnic group. Arabic is the official language, and Islam is the dominant religion.

Social Indicators:

Western Sahara has a low literacy rate, with only about 50% of the population being able to read and write. The country also has high levels of poverty and unemployment.

Natural Resources:

Western Sahara is rich in natural resources, including phosphates, iron ore, and fisheries. The country also has significant reserves of oil and gas, although they have not been fully exploited.


Western Sahara has a limited technology infrastructure, with low internet penetration rates and limited access to modern technology. However, efforts are being made to improve the country’s technology infrastructure.

International Relations:

Western Sahara’s sovereignty remains a contentious issue, with the international community divided on the matter. The United Nations has been involved in efforts to resolve the conflict and achieve a peaceful resolution.

Country Code: +212 5288

Leading Newspaper:

163Western Sahara:Sahara Press Service
164Western Sahara:Western Sahara Resource Watch
165Western Sahara:Laayoune TV

Sahara Press Service (SPS)

Major Problems:

Western Sahara faces several challenges, including poverty, unemployment, and limited access to basic services such as healthcare and education. The ongoing conflict with Morocco has also had a significant impact on the country, leading to displacement, human rights abuses, and restrictions on freedom of speech and assembly.


Western Sahara’s capital is El AaiĂșn, which is also the largest city in the territory. It is located in the northern part of the country and is home to a significant portion of the population.

Festival and Time:

The most important festival in Western Sahara is Eid al-Fitr, which marks the end of Ramadan. Other significant festivals include Eid al-Adha, Independence Day (February 27), and the anniversary of the establishment of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (February 27).


One of the unique features of Western Sahara is its traditional music, which is characterized by the use of the guembri, a three-stringed bass instrument. The country’s cuisine is also notable, with a range of dishes featuring seafood, meat, and spices.


Some of the popular dishes in Western Sahara include:

  1. Couscous – a dish made from semolina, served with meat and vegetables.
  2. Harira – a soup made from chickpeas, lentils, and meat, often eaten during Ramadan.
  3. B’stilla – a savory pie filled with pigeon or chicken, almonds, and spices.
  4. Tagine – a slow-cooked stew made with meat or fish, vegetables, and spices.
  5. Grilled seafood – a range of fresh seafood, including shrimp, squid, and octopus, grilled with spices and served with rice or couscous.


Western Sahara is a fascinating country with a rich culture and a wealth of natural resources. However, the ongoing conflict with Morocco has had a significant impact on the country, leading to poverty, displacement, and restrictions on basic rights. Efforts are being made to resolve the conflict and improve the country’s infrastructure and social indicators. Despite its challenges, Western Sahara remains a unique and culturally rich destination for travelers and enthusiasts.

Web links and resources:

  1. Map of Western Sahara:
  2. Flag of Western Sahara:
  3. Official website of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic:
  4. Leading newspaper in Western Sahara:
  5. Western Sahara conflict:
  6. Western Sahara natural resources:
  7. Traditional music of Western Sahara:
  8. Western Sahara cuisine:

Other Links


Burundi :

Burkina-faso :

Botswanas :

Benin :

Angolas :

Algeria :

Cape verde :

Central African Republic:

Chad :

Comoros :

Djibouti :

DR Congo :

Egypt :

Gabon :


Eswatini :

Equatorial Guinea :

The Eritrea:


The Gambia:




Ivory Coast:















The Republic of the Congo:

The Reunion Island:




Sierra Leone:


South Africa:

The Sudan:

The Malawi:

South Sudan:

Rwanda :